News: New Abortion Laws

Here‘s the article I’m referencing.

In Oklahoma, they have passed the “Pain-Capable Unborn Child Protection Act”.  I had no idea what this meant until I read the description, which is that an abortion is illegal after 20 weeks unless it is dangerous to the mother’s health.  This is based on the idea that a fetus can feel pain then, which is contested according to the article.  If anyone knows about that, please let me know.

I will admit that I am a fan of a time limit on abortions.  I still have an iffy feeling on it, but if you are 6 or 7 months that is kind of stretching it in my mind.  At this point the fetus has already wrecked you, so in my mind you might as well finish it.  This is, of course, not including a woman whose health and life are on the line if she finished the pregnancy.

I am not sure where I think the cut off should be.  My first thought is the third trimester, but I would have do some research or talk to some more knowledgeable people to better understand the fetus development. This bill, however, is 5 months, which seems a little early.  My opinion is still pretty open.

What do you guys think?  About this law or about abortion as a whole?

About Tori

I am a graduate student working on my masters in Women and Gender studies. My masters thesis is on the gender nonconformity and ambiguity in modern film.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to News: New Abortion Laws

  1. Debi says:

    I think the limit should be fetal viability, though the age of viability is a little squishy. Somewhere around 5-6 months, although “viability” and “healthy child” don’t mean the same thing.

Leave a Reply

